Artist Mark Knopfler
Venue Recording studio, London, UK
Date 1994-1995
Source Soundboard
Format 1CD-R
  1. No wonder he's confused - take #1
  2. No wonder he's confused - take #2
  3. Secondary Waltz
  4. I'm the fool
  5. Done with Bonaparte
  6. A night in summer long ago
  7. Lily of the West
  8. Instrumental #1
  9. Instrumental #2
  10. The water is wide (O Waly, Waly)
Additional comments

This is a totally unique recording! Taken from the soundboard during the Golden Heart sessions somewhere in 1994-1995. No wonder he's confused did not make it on any album (so far...). Secondary Waltz was not used for many years until it surprisingly appeared in 2007 on Mark Knopfler's fifth solo album Kill to get crimson. The songs I'm the fool, Done with Bonaparte and A night in summer long ago did make it on the Golden Heart album. Lily of the West is a traditional American folk song and covered by several artists, thus not written by Mark Knopfler. In 1995, this song was officially released on the album The Long Black Veil by The Chieftains and features Mark Knopfler on guitar and vocals. The instrumental tracks 8 and 9 are unknown for me, probably written by Mark Knopfler. The last track The water is wide (also called O Waly, Waly in the Scots language) is thought to be an English or Scottish folk song that has been sung since the 1600s and has seen considerable popularity through to the 21st century. It had been covered by many artists. Mark Knopfler created an instrumental version of it which sounds absolutely amazing. The overall sound quality is very good, but suffers a little bit from hiss.